The last goodbyes…


Growing up with such an intense feeling of otherness, I have found that I allowed that otherness to be a wedge between certain relationships. At the same time I found people who embraced me and that otherness. I have been blessed to always have the most beautiful people to love me and hold me up. At the very start of my blooming, as late as it was, I made the acquaintance of a beautiful young woman whose eyes are half moons when she smiles. We met at QSU at UCSB. She is interesting, intelligent, empathetic and strong willed. She really believes in living. I am very proud of our friendship. She is one of a handful of sisters I have. (Shout out to Andrea and Alicia) I am really going to miss them.

Ileana took me out last weekend. We saw The Coup at the Independent. It was a badass show. I had no idea of what I was walking into and after speaking to a Chris H. I feel like an ass for not knowing about them sooner. He’s from Philly, so he’s cool like that. It was the best show I have ever gone to, with the exception of seeing the Gotan Project at the Warfield. I was so happy to be there with her. I am going to miss these types of shows while living abroad. I’ve been spoiled living two blocks from the Independent.

This band from Oakland made some hardcore, rock/funk tunes that made your feet and knees hurt from dancing on the concrete floor. One of my pet peeves is people who don’t know their own space while dancing, but that night I just rode the positive vibrations.. There were creative lyrics, talented vocalists and awesome DJay, Pam the Funkstess, who spun the records with her ample breasts. That’s right, her boobies. It was such a good show.

Saturday the following day, my buddy, B.O.B.B.Y, and I went to the Art and Soul Festival in Oakland. The Plaza Stage was the brightest, with the best talent. Sisters in the Pit rocked it out. I’d never seen 3 black women rock so hard. I tried to swallow down that this was a significant moment. I wouldn’t be seeing black folks in Vietnam. I also wouldn’t be seeing much funnel cake either. After getting our fill of vitamin D in Oakland we made our way back to North Beach to meet up with more of my people for beer and curry. There was the 630 crew, the Twins, and the Hermans who joined me with a few others for some spicy food and pub games. It was nice to share food and a raucous good time while a gang of super heroes danced around the establishment. The best part of the night was watching the Herman fuse-ball tourney that went in slow motion. I was fascinated by the lack of shit talking during the competition. I’m still not sure which side had won. I was glad to take these moments to catch up with people, talk about possible visits.

A long table full of my buddies was great to see. These are the people I try to share the best of times. These were people I could get down with while dressed as a bunny or a banana. It was really nice. I am blessed with the best spirits surrounding me, evidence of my mother’s prayers. In each of one I see love, goodness and God. It is so hard to believe we will be so far from each other.

Sigh, I love you guys.

One thought on “The last goodbyes…

  1. It was maybe the best show I’ve ever been to, and I’m so happy we got to share it. I admire you so much and I’m extremely proud to call u a friend!

Leave a Reply

